Fantasia Reviews The Bow of Destiny

The Bow of Destiny by P. H. Solomon
Published 9/28/2015
Ages 14+

51kam4ntixl“Athson has seen things that aren’t there and suffered fits since being tragically orphaned as a child at the hands of trolls and Corgren the wizard. When a strange will mentioning a mysterious bow comes into his possession, he’s not sure it’s real. But the trolls that soon pursue him are all too real and dangerous. And what’s worse, these raiders serve Corgren and his master, the hidden dragon, Magdronu, who are responsible for the destruction of his childhood home. Athson is drawn into a quest for the concealed Bow of Hart by the mystic Withling, Hastra, but he isn’t always sure what’s real and who his enemies are. With Corgren and Magdronu involved, Athson must face not only frequent danger but his grasp on reality and the reasons behind his tragic past.

Enjoy an epic sword & sorcery novel where myths & legends change the course of a young ranger’s life and propel him on a quest into both his past and his destiny.” – From Amazon

Story –fullstarfullstarfullstarfullstarfullstar Remarkable

Mister Solomon has crafted a story the likes of which we have not yet seen in our journey through indie published fantasy books. His characters are complex and fun, and while we read it, we feel as if we are witnessing something great; we will remember Athson for some time to come. The author takes a familiar fantasy vibe and then proceeds to make it his own. The story reminds us of something we may see in an R. A. Salvatore novel, and yet, Mister Solomon has his own signature touch that gives us not only something original and unique but will leave many fantasy readers waiting for more.

Athson sat up, his chest heaving. That was too real. His ears rang with the eagle’s screams and his face burned with the rush of frigid wind. What were those words? Something about a bow? He shook his head. Could that be it?

Writing and Formatting –fullstarfullstarfullstarfullstarfullstar Superb

So many indie novels falter in this category; however, Mister Solomon’s Bow of Destiny is not one. His style is exciting and descriptive and never leaves us in one place too long. The dialogue is natural and enjoyable and if there were any errors in the prose, they were so negligible that we cannot think of any examples off the tops of our heads. Mister Solomon’s style serves to enhance his already intelligently written story and turns it into so much more.

Athson trudged into the forest. He should forget the bow. He should forget Limbreth and everything. He’d just go and find his own way. His fists quivered.

Literary Value –fullstarfullstarfullstarfullstar Noteworthy

This is the first time we are giving out this mark regarding literary value, and this is not something we took lightly. While perhaps not groundbreaking, Mister Solomon has moved the ruler by which we believe indie fantasy novels should be judged. He has shown us that it is possible to write a story as great as any published by the big publishing houses, and then give it away(comparatively, it’s only $0.99!). He has single-handedly raised the bar, and it is something we hope to continue to see in the future.

Horn-calls whispered in the stone passages beyond their refuge, the distant echoes fading as they stirred and huddled close.

Overall –fullstarfullstarfullstarfullstarfullstar 5, A Must Read

If you love fantasy, whether it is in the vein of R. A. Salvatore, Piers Anthony, or even J. R. R. Tolkien, we cannot strongly enough recommend this book. It is a great fantasy, original and fun, but at the same time, it pushes the envelope just enough to become something more, something greater. The only thing we can say is that we are thankful that Mister Solomon is so ambitious in his release schedule.

You can (and should) buy the Bow of Solomon on Amazon or Smashwords.

Want more from P. H. Solomon? Find him here.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Fantasia Reviews The Bow of Destiny

  1. Reblogged this on Archer's Aim and commented:
    I had to share this from Fantasia Reviews. I was stunned and speechless to receive this wonderful review last night. I am humbled to be mentioned in the same sentence of such great fantasy authors. My thanks to Fantasia Reviews for reviewing The Bow of Destiny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s